This summer Lora Tchekoratova and Georgy Valtchev will be featured at several international festivals: Sofia Music Weeks in Bulgaria, Kneisel Hall in Blue Hill, Maine, the Memorial Hall Series in Deerfield, Massachusets, and Apollonia Festival of the Arts at the ancient Black Sea town Sozopol, Bulgaria. They will make radio and television recordings, featuring works by Dobrinka Tabakova and Henry Cowell among others.

Festival appearances:

Sofia Music Weeks, Bulgaria: May 24 - June 28
Memorial Hall, Deerfield, Massachusets: August 13
Kneisel Hall, Blue Hill, Maine: August 14 - 20
Apollonia, Sozopol, Bulgaria: August 24 - September 5

Upcoming recordings:

Dobrinka Tabakova: "Through the Cold Smoke" for Violin and Piano.
Dobrinka Tabakova: “ Rodopa” for Violin and Piano
Lou Harrison: "Grand Duo" for Violin and Piano
Henry Cowell: "Homage to Iran" for Violin, Piano and Persian Drum
Paul Schoenfield: "Four Souveniers" for Violin and Piano.

Bellow are short descriptions of two of the works to be featured in the programs:
“Through the cold smoke” for Violin and Piano by Dobrinka Tabakova.

Inspired by an archive photograph of a cigarette in front of a radio microphone, this work was written to commemorate the centenary of the birth of Petar Uvaliev, Bulgarian-born journalist, art-critic, producer. From this initial visual image stemmed meditations on the time in which this respected intellectual lived and his role in the life of the thousands who listened to his broadcasts and essays on BBC World service. The Cold War was a time of informational 'fog' and deprivation, and journalists like Petar Ouvaliev, were the light through that fog. In trying to capture the essence of these thoughts and meditations, there is a direct musical link woven into the music, spelling out Petar Uvaliev's pseudonym- Pierre Rouve. The resonant texture created by the piano creates an impressionist background for the 'light beam' of the violin. DT

Lora Tchekoratova and Dobrinka Tabakova in New York, 2016.

Homage to Iran” for Violin, Piano and Persian Drum by Henry Cowell. 

The composition features the traditional Persian drum "tombak", which Cowell requested to be performed by a Persian master musician. The work is in four movements, the first and third are to be improvised by the tombak master, while the piano and violin are equal partners in the second and fourth movements. The co-existence and peaceful music making of the classical piano, the traditional drum, and the violin is a beautiful metaphor of the ability of mankind to co-exist peacefully together. This is a our message of hope. LT

Traditional tombak, Persian drum